Its time again for a new Netflix show (these seem to keep coming on pretty fast phase and im not sure am i able to keep up with them). This one is called Stranger Things and to my understanding its based on a book that takes a place in New york - however it seems that they swapped the location, which was a good thing in my opinion.
Synopsis - On November 6, 1983 in Indiana, 12-year-old Will Byers vanishes instantly. Will's mother, Joyce, becomes frantic and tries to find Will, while Police Chief Hopper begins his own investigation. The very next day a mysterious girl with strange abilities appears, as does something dark and evil.
I'm not going write a lengthy review this time as ive struggled with motivation among other things, so i decided to do a simple bullet point of good/bad stuff and if you want more insight to the show you can watch the video review since its lot better overall and gives more context
Great
- Very well done soundtrack that brings good atmosphere and feel to the show
- Clothing, music and filming style reflects well the 80's
- Nancy is kinda cute <3
- The government was kinda weird and they didn't act very logically at times
Bad
- In the end i don't think there was any real twists on turn of events in the whole season, which would have created shock type of a effect, i'm not sure was this intentional however
- "The Clash - Should I Stay Or Should I Go" is stuck on my head now
As always i will hugely appreciate people following me on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube since that keeps me getting up in the morning to see people comment and liking stuff i do.
The very first video i ever did for the Sugi Guru channel was the Marco Polo Season 1 review, which is still most viewed video i think on the channel - don't know particularly why is that i guess i did it rather quickly and all that. But i have come long way since, improved the branding/layouts and some parts audio quality is also higher - however lets talk about Marco Polo
Synopsis - In a world replete with greed, betrayal, sexual intrigue and rivalry, "Marco Polo" is based on the famed explorer's adventures in Kublai Khan's court in 13th century Mongolia.
Continuing where we left off on the first season, Kublai had conquered all china and killed the counselor. The 2nd season continues probably around few months later the events in first season, where Marco and agents of khan are searching for the Young Emperor Boy.
This season focuses lot on Ahmad and his attempts to kill Kublai and at the same time Kaidou wants to challenge Kublai for the Mongol throne - Christians and Pope also play a small part this season (Probably bigger role in 3rd season if that ever happens).
I feel that there was a strong emphasis on certain character relationships this season especially between Marco and Kublai which seems to grow stronger and stronger per season - there was also few flashbacks, which were really important in terms of character development and giving some insight why certain people do certain decisions.
Overall the production value, music, cast of actors are great, even tho lot of people are unsatisfied with Marco Polo's actor, which im fine with (I know he isn't amazing, but he does the job).
Its that time of the year again where inmates of Lichfield roam around and do all types of crazy stuff. I wasn't particularly big fan of Season 3 for many reasons i thought it was too much focused on Pipers whining and mental breakdowns, which made me hate her character so much.
Luckily the screen time between all characters in Season 4 are more balanced and i rather enjoyed that - its no longer about Piper and her way of dealing with prison life. Some people said that the show had become also more Drama heavy than a comedy, but for me always it was a "Dramedy" sure there is more emphasis on real struggles of a prison life and the show portrays lot of those.
I think somehow i feel there is also a bit of "Black Lives matter" type of a vibe with this season along with general prisoner rights - Warden Caputo also plays a big part in this season (well he had major role in previous one too) and hes struggles to fight the corporate world to make prison a better place.
Caputo really wants to achieve something during his time in Lichfield and perhaps is looking for some type of a path for his life (He kinda finds that during this season) and he reflects alot on his past decisions, where he fired lot of people in Season 3 etc.
Overall very enjoyable season and maybe best so far, the finale episode was "very powerful" and it manifested lot of powerful emotions in me a lot.
I think for a such great series, this was fairly horrible ending. I mean, first of all Deb dying instead of Dexter was kinda wierd. I also think that Dexter should have died on the storm instead of ending up some fishing village back at Alaska. I think there could have been multiple better endings with dexter, but this is among worst ones ive seen.
Also i have no idea if there is going to be spinoff? I was thinking about Dexter taking an apprentice and training him/her the "Code". Any thoughts about that? I just don't see anyone else being really good character for spinoff since they killed debra and hamilton (RIP ZACK).
Leave comments below what do you think about the ending :/
I had some expectations for this pilot episode, but it seems they revealed all the good stuff at the trailer. Honestly i was kinda expecting a good Comedy here, but i am at wrong place. The humor is aimed at people who are very unfunny. I think US television companies keeps underestimating American people how intelligent they are.
I mean Giovanni and Seth are great actors, but it just that the writing of the jokes are plain bad. There is just some things you really want to work, but i couldn't look past the cliche stuff. I will watch next episode, but if it doesn't jump from that i'm out.
Also i like to point out, since everyone in this industry is god damn Jew, it was no surprise that Hitler was bashed in this episode. "Kill Hitler 3" i mean C'mon? really? That's pretty low if i may add so, top of that it wasn't funny at all. I Just feel like Jew's are making so much stereotyping on nazis, muslims and christians, but you never see any Jew bashing on TV, because every channel and big company is owned by them, but i am not :), so i got this wonderful opportunity to bash them, since its my blog and nobody owns it except me. Also like to add that "Brenda Song" looked really hot on this episode (only reason i am watching second episode).
Now there is only 2 episodes left, who knows what happens. I'll keep this intro short and get digging on the actual episode. Still looking forward to an announcement for a Spin-off series.
***SPOILER***
So lets going, first of all our lovely detective Quinn breaks up with batistas sister (because she is still in love with Debra). Quinn tries to work things with Debra and get back together, but Debra doesn't really say no or yes. Vogul becomes to understand that his son is totally mad, after Dexter shows her the videos where he kills Zack and other patients, it appears he likes to kill like Dexter does. They agree to set up a trap and put end to him, so Vogul invites her son over a coffee at night and calls Dexter to come there, sadly Dexter got caught up in few things and comes to the scene too late. Vogel's son already starts to expect something is off when her mothers arm is shaking quite a lot. When Dexter arrives to the house, Vogel and her son is at window, Daniel takes a knife and slices her mothers throat open. Dexter then breaks the door comes in, but Daniel has already disappeared. Back at Debra's house Harrison hurts himself and Hannah is forced to take him to a hospital, she is noticed by a nurse in the hospital. They know that they have to move to Argentina fast as possible, but Dexter wants to kill Daniel before he is moving to Argentina (finishing the plate he is eating pretty much).
***SPOILERS END***
Stay tuned for review for whole season and 2 last remaining episodes of Dexter Season 8.
Dexter is one of the Innovators of TV Drama/Thriller i might say, it has created quite a controversy around the world and if i'm correct it has been banned in multiple countries across the World. This show had its 8 very strong seasons, i think i pretty much enjoyed each one, can't say which one was best and which one worst. I think all were pretty great, although i kinda wanted to Dexter's brother to live and be sort of an Arch villain of the series, but guess it didn't turn out that way. Also Hamilton's death kinda killed of good idea of spin-off series, which would have been great in my opinion.
This is my first review of a single episode and i'm planning to keep it as a habit, if i am able to keep up with the TV schedule. So expect reviews day after the airing (Since i'm from EU its hard to watch them on actual air time). I know that 9th episode already aired, but i will do that later (within few days).
***SPOILERS***
So lets dig into the episode. There is only three episodes left and as for now i have no idea what kinda conclusion we will have. I always thought of ending where Dexter dies or either serves lifetime at prison. We uncovered the identity of zack's killer, which is son of Vogul. Well it is a twist i didn't expect to see, i mean dead son coming back to life out of nowhere. Hannah staying at Debra's house, while our Field Agent tries to uncover Hannah's whereabouts, Harrison almost reveals that to the Agent, gladly it didn't come to that. Hannah also speaks to Dexter to moving to Argentina (Her dream place so to speak, which they were planning with wade back on last season) and Dexter tells her that they can do it and have life together there. I kinda have my doubts that will happen.
After identity of Vogul's son is revealed Dexter goes to stalk him at a dinner, but voguls son is one step ahead and manages to escape the scene by fucking up Dexters tiers at his car. Then Dexter heads to Voguls house to tell her that he managed to escape. Vogul tells Dexter that she can barely trust him anymore after drugging her to sleep before Dexter went after his son. After Dexter leaves the house, it is revealed that voguls son was at the apartment listening their conversation, Vogul convinces his son that she didn't send Dexter to kill him. Episode ends where they are having a breakfast.
The Good Stuff
+ Debra seems to accept Hannah x Dexter + Harrison is cute as always + The Villain is finally revealed
The Bad Stuff
- Vogul and his son are kinda creepy - Not enough Vince's Girl - Quinn is still worst detective ever
Hello folks, its time for a another review again. This time it will be AMC's hit series The Walking Dead Season 3. I actually started this series while back in season one i finished that and then i kinda dropped it. Now i picked the series up from S2E02 and watched every episode. Although i won't cover what happened on season two, i will mention it few times perhaps during this review. So those who don't know, The Walking Dead is a Zombie/Apocalypse Drama series by AMC. It revolves around group of survivors lead by former Cop who try to find a place, which is safe from Zombies (Walkers what they refer them as in the series). I'm well aware of that Horror and Zombie related stuff is very popular in US, so that kinda explains why the series is very popular there.
***SPOILERS***
So let's dig into the Season Three of The Walking Dead. So back in season two, the farm was overrun by walkers and they had to abandon it and find a new place to live. There is cap of time between the end of Season Two and Start of Season Three, i believe they spent the winter on the road going from house to house finding supplies, also during this time Lorrie's baby was almost ready to come to this world (It would mean 6 months in road). So they finally a find a place to be at and that is a Prison. It is overrun by walkers, but Rick and his gang will clear them out and set up a pretty new home on one of the cell blocks.
From the prison they find place to stay and supplies, later on they stumble on group of former prisoners who have been trapped inside for long time. Tension builds up between the former prisoner group and ricks group, but they manage to handle things with killing half of the prisoners (The new characters come and go in this series, you never know whose gonna die next). At some point alarm gets switched on the prison and more walkers try to attack it and in the process T-Dog and Lorrie die. Lorrie is able to give birth to her baby girl before she dies. Rick goes insane and starts to see hallucinations during rest of the season.
Other important aspect of the season is the Woodberry a safehaven made by Phillip a.k.a the Governor, who is your typical violent guy who appears totally different on outside. He is maniac and i have to say looking his smiling face whole season makes me want to punch him on the face hehe. As some of you already remember Andrea got separated from the group in season 2 and she was actually found by this Kill Bill like Uma thurman (Michonne), but black version. They created a friendship and stayed together whole winter, eventually they were found by Governor and were taken in Woodberry. Michonne was able to uncover the ugly side of the governor and tried to tell Andrea that, but she didn't really want to believe that. Also other returning character is Merle who is brother of Daryl. He was taken by governor and he captain at Woodberry or officer whatever you want to put it. He starts to get in trouble quite a lot, lying to governor and daryl and everyone practically. Also he beats Glenn pretty badly. Governor and Rick go head to head couple of times and there is a ending war at the end lot of people end up dead, i won't spoil all that who and when. This is merely a synopsis what happened, i might have left out of few bits out, but i told the important stuff. They left few cliffhangers quite a lot especially the one with who had been feeding the walkers in the prison. Also i leave a trailer below so you can see whats in store for season 4.
***SPOILERS END***
The Ratings
My rating system has maximum of 20 points, will be rated based on 4 criteria, Music, Actors, Story and Drama (this will change based on genre of the series). I am not paid to rate some shows higher than others, these are my honest opinions, some of you will disagree and thats fine, but i have lots of experience when it comes to the series, since i watched this stuff for my whole life.
Music
This series has its own musical scoring, which is always a good thing. The intro song is pretty decent i have to say. Then again we got this American Country music playing now and then, by all no means i am not Country hater, but this is just so popular thing in some series. The OST and soundtrack are average so ill give it average score as well. (2.5/5.0)
Actors
I think the key of the series is not the Walkers its actually the drama between the characters (some of you don't notice it). Andrew Lincoln (Rick) does good job as a main character with all that leadership stuff and whole dilemma after Lorrie dies. Hershel's actor is also really great and convincing. I Gotta say Norman Reedus (Daryl) plays really well this redneck kinda thing, if some of you have seen Boondock saints that is totally different role he got there. I think its pretty talented cast, well thats what you gotta have in Drama series although. I gotta say that i always give good ratings to actors part, since i just drop the shows with bad actors usually. Anyhow i think this show has few outstanding performances so for that reason i will give it good rating. (3.5/5.0)
Story The Story of the Walking Dead, is more about character conflicts than actual huge plot twists (my 2 cents). I wasn't really shocked during the season, Lorries death was kinda unexpected though. Some of the stuff didn't make much sense during the season, but i won't go in detail with that. I Kinda felt like season one had better story, although ending was bit retarded with that explosion stuff. As for season two, nothing really happened expect Shane's betrayal and some stuff at the farm, but i guess we went bit down storywise, maybe because directors got changed, i don't know, but i hope/think season 4 will do better.(2.0/5.0)
Drama & Horror It's drama series by Heart, but horror is just nice add-on to it. The whole series never used those cliche parts where, something suddenly comes out of the dark and scares everyone. Then again, i think thats something you should have couple of times i guess. Part of me wanted to be bit scared.Althoughi have to give big props for the clothing and make up the zombies have they look really cool and convincing. As for drama i think it was up to the level it should have been, of course there is always room up for improvement. The character conflicts were interesting, like who Merle tried to get in the back to the group and all that stuff with Michonne.(3.0/5.0)
Final Score - (11/20)
Overall the season 3 was good, but i felt like previous season were bit better. The viewers of the series are immense compared to any other this type of series, but is the The Walking Dead worth the hype? I don't believe so. I believe its quite trendy right now, just like The Game Of Thrones is currently. By all means is not bad series, but i don't think it lives up to its name quite fully, but i believe based on trailer, season 4 could be really interesting. I still recommend watching this series, since its like first TV series with zombies on it and it has been big innovator to whole scene. One day i feel nobody won't be going to watch movies instead people will watch quality TV series instead.