Saturday, September 28, 2013

End Of Dexter? Worst ending ever?

I think for a such great series, this was fairly horrible ending. I mean, first of all Deb dying instead of Dexter was kinda wierd. I also think that Dexter should have died on the storm instead of ending up some fishing village back at Alaska. I think there could have been multiple better endings with dexter, but this is among worst ones ive seen.

Also i have no idea if there is going to be spinoff? I was thinking about Dexter taking an apprentice and training him/her the "Code". Any thoughts about that? I just don't see anyone else being really good character for spinoff since they killed debra and hamilton (RIP ZACK).

Leave comments below what do you think about the ending :/

0 comments:

Saturday, September 21, 2013

Dads, a killer or filler?

I had some expectations for this pilot episode, but it seems they revealed all the good stuff at the trailer. Honestly i was kinda expecting a good Comedy here, but i am at wrong place. The humor is aimed at people who are very unfunny. I think US television companies keeps underestimating American people how intelligent they are.

I mean Giovanni and Seth are great actors, but it just that the writing of the jokes are plain bad. There is just some things you really want to work, but i couldn't look past the cliche stuff. I will watch next episode, but if it doesn't jump from that i'm out.

Also i like to point out, since everyone in this industry is god damn Jew, it was no surprise that Hitler was bashed in this episode. "Kill Hitler 3" i mean C'mon? really? That's pretty low if i may add so, top of that it wasn't funny at all. I Just feel like Jew's are making so much stereotyping on nazis, muslims and christians, but you never see any Jew bashing on TV, because every channel and big company is owned by them, but i am not :), so i got this wonderful opportunity to bash them, since its my blog and nobody owns it except me. Also like to add that "Brenda Song" looked really hot on this episode (only reason i am watching second episode).

0 comments:

Thursday, September 12, 2013

Dexter - S8E10 Review

Now there is only 2 episodes left, who knows what happens. I'll keep this intro short and get digging on the actual episode. Still looking forward to an announcement for a Spin-off series.


***SPOILER***
So lets going, first of all our lovely detective Quinn breaks up with batistas sister (because she is still in love with Debra). Quinn tries to work things with Debra and get back together, but Debra doesn't really say no or yes. Vogul becomes to understand that his son is totally mad, after Dexter shows her the videos where he kills Zack and other patients, it appears he likes to kill like Dexter does. They agree to set up a trap and put end to him, so Vogul invites her son over a coffee at night and calls Dexter to come there, sadly Dexter got caught up in few things and comes to the scene too late. Vogel's son already starts to expect something is off when her mothers arm is shaking quite a lot. When Dexter arrives to the house, Vogel and her son is at window, Daniel takes a knife and slices her mothers throat open. Dexter then breaks the door comes in, but Daniel has already disappeared. Back at Debra's house Harrison hurts himself and Hannah is forced to take him to a hospital, she is noticed by a nurse in the hospital. They know that they have to move to Argentina fast as possible, but Dexter wants to kill Daniel before he is moving to Argentina (finishing the plate he is eating pretty much). 
***SPOILERS END***

Stay tuned for review for whole season and 2 last remaining episodes of Dexter Season 8.

0 comments:

Monday, September 9, 2013

Dexter - S8E09 Review

Dexter is one of the Innovators of TV Drama/Thriller i might say, it has created quite a controversy around the world and if i'm correct it has been banned in multiple countries across the World. This show had its 8 very strong seasons, i think i pretty much enjoyed each one, can't say which one was best and which one worst. I think all were pretty great, although i kinda wanted to Dexter's brother to live and be sort of an Arch villain of the series, but guess it didn't turn out that way. Also Hamilton's death kinda killed of good idea of spin-off series, which would have been great in my opinion.

This is my first review of a single episode and i'm planning to keep it as a habit, if i am able to keep up with the TV schedule. So expect reviews day after the airing (Since i'm from EU its hard to watch them on actual air time). I know that 9th episode already aired, but i will do that later (within few days).

***SPOILERS***

So lets dig into the episode. There is only three episodes left and as for now i have no idea what kinda conclusion we will have. I always thought of ending where Dexter dies or either serves lifetime at prison. We uncovered the identity of zack's killer, which is son of Vogul. Well it is a twist i didn't expect to see, i mean dead son coming back to life out of nowhere. Hannah staying at Debra's house, while our Field Agent tries to uncover Hannah's whereabouts, Harrison almost reveals that to the Agent, gladly it didn't come to that. Hannah also speaks to Dexter to moving to Argentina (Her dream place so to speak, which they were planning with wade back on last season) and Dexter tells her that they can do it and have life together there. I kinda have my doubts that will happen.

After identity of Vogul's son is revealed Dexter goes to stalk him at a dinner, but voguls son is one step ahead and manages to escape the scene by fucking up Dexters tiers at his car. Then Dexter heads to Voguls house to tell her that he managed to escape. Vogul tells Dexter that she can barely trust him anymore after drugging her to sleep before Dexter went after his son. After Dexter leaves the house, it is revealed that voguls son was at the apartment listening their conversation, Vogul convinces his son that she didn't send Dexter to kill him. Episode ends where they are having a breakfast.

The Good Stuff

+ Debra seems to accept Hannah x Dexter
+ Harrison is cute as always
+ The Villain is finally revealed

The Bad Stuff

- Vogul and his son are kinda creepy
- Not enough Vince's Girl
- Quinn is still worst detective ever

0 comments:

Friday, September 6, 2013

The Walking Dead - Season 3 Review


Hello folks, its time for a another review again. This time it will be AMC's hit series The Walking Dead Season 3. I actually started this series while back in season one i finished that and then i kinda dropped it. Now i picked the series up from S2E02 and watched every episode. Although i won't cover what happened on season two, i will mention it few times perhaps during this review.

So those who don't know, The Walking Dead is a Zombie/Apocalypse Drama series by AMC. It revolves around group of survivors lead by former Cop who try to find a place, which is safe from Zombies (Walkers what they refer them as in the series). I'm well aware of that Horror and Zombie related stuff is very popular in US, so that kinda explains why the series is very popular there.

***SPOILERS***
 So let's dig into the Season Three of The Walking Dead. So back in season two, the farm was overrun by walkers and they had to abandon it and find a new place to live. There is cap of time between the end of Season Two and Start of Season Three, i believe they spent the winter on the road going from house to house finding supplies, also during this time Lorrie's baby was almost ready to come to this world (It would mean 6 months in road). So they finally a find a place to be at and that is a Prison. It is overrun by walkers, but Rick and his gang will clear them out and set up a pretty new home on one of the cell blocks.

From the prison they find place to stay and supplies, later on they stumble on group of former prisoners who have been trapped inside for long time. Tension builds up between the former prisoner group and ricks group, but they manage to handle things with killing half of the prisoners (The new characters come and go in this series, you never know whose gonna die next). At some point alarm gets switched on the prison and more walkers try to attack it and in the process T-Dog and Lorrie die. Lorrie is able to give birth to her baby girl before she dies. Rick goes insane and starts to see hallucinations during rest of the season.

Other important aspect of the season is the Woodberry a safehaven made by Phillip a.k.a the Governor, who is your typical violent guy who appears totally different on outside. He is maniac and i have to say looking his smiling face whole season makes me want to punch him on the face hehe. As some of you already remember Andrea got separated from the group in season 2 and she was actually found by this Kill Bill like Uma thurman (Michonne), but black version. They created a friendship and stayed together whole winter, eventually they were found by Governor and were taken in Woodberry. Michonne was able to uncover the ugly side of the governor and tried to tell Andrea that, but she didn't really want to believe that. Also other returning character is Merle who is brother of Daryl. He was taken by governor and he captain at Woodberry or officer whatever you want to put it. He starts to get in trouble quite a lot, lying to governor and daryl and everyone practically. Also he beats Glenn pretty badly. 

Governor and Rick go head to head couple of times and there is a ending war at the end lot of people end up dead, i won't spoil all that who and when. This is merely a synopsis what happened, i might have left out of few bits out, but i told the important stuff. They left few cliffhangers quite a lot especially the one with who had been feeding the walkers in the prison. Also i leave a trailer below so you can see whats in store for season 4.


***SPOILERS END***





The Ratings

My rating system has maximum of 20 points, will be rated based on 4 criteria, Music, Actors, Story and Drama (this will change based on genre of the series). I am not paid to rate some shows higher than others, these are my honest opinions, some of you will disagree and thats fine, but i have lots of experience when it comes to the series, since i watched this stuff for my whole life.

Music 
This series has its own musical scoring, which is always a good thing. The intro song is pretty decent i have to say. Then again we got this American Country music playing now and then, by all no means i am not Country hater, but this is just so popular thing in some series. The OST and soundtrack are average so ill give it average score as well. (2.5/5.0)

Actors
I think the key of the series is not the Walkers its actually the drama between the characters (some of you don't notice it). Andrew Lincoln (Rick) does good job as a main character with all that leadership stuff and whole dilemma after Lorrie dies. Hershel's actor is also really great and convincing. I Gotta say Norman Reedus (Daryl) plays really well this redneck kinda thing, if some of you have seen Boondock saints that is totally different role he got there. I think its pretty talented cast, well thats what you gotta have in Drama series although. I gotta say that i always give good ratings to actors part, since i just drop the shows with bad actors usually. Anyhow i think this show has few outstanding performances so for that reason i will give it good rating. (3.5/5.0)

Story
The Story of the Walking Dead, is more about character conflicts than actual huge plot twists (my 2 cents). I wasn't really shocked during the season, Lorries death was kinda unexpected though. Some of the stuff didn't make much sense during the season, but i won't go in detail with that. I Kinda felt like season one had better story, although ending was bit retarded with that explosion stuff. As for season two, nothing really happened expect Shane's betrayal and some stuff at the farm, but i guess we went bit down storywise, maybe because directors got changed, i don't know, but i hope/think season 4 will do better. (2.0/5.0)

Drama & Horror
It's drama series by Heart, but horror is just nice add-on to it. The whole series never used those cliche parts where, something suddenly comes out of the dark and scares everyone. Then again, i think thats something you should have couple of times i guess. Part of me wanted to be bit scared. Although i have to give big props for the clothing and make up the zombies have they look really cool and convincing. As for drama i think it was up to the level it should have been, of course there is always room up for improvement. The character conflicts were interesting, like who Merle tried to get in the back to the group and all that stuff with Michonne. (3.0/5.0)

Final Score - (11/20)

Overall the season 3 was good, but i felt like previous season were bit better. The viewers of the series are immense compared to any other this type of series, but is the The Walking Dead worth the hype? I don't believe so. I believe its quite trendy right now, just like The Game Of Thrones is currently. By all means is not bad series, but i don't think it lives up to its name quite fully, but i believe based on trailer, season 4 could be really interesting. I still recommend watching this series, since its like first TV series with zombies on it and it has been big innovator to whole scene. One day i feel nobody won't be going to watch movies instead people will watch quality TV series instead.

0 comments:

Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Move From Wordpress to Blogger


Some of you, who are coming from Wordpress to Blogger, may wonder why i changed to here. I'm just going to give few words about that and break it down on bullet points.
  1. Wordpress has poor monetization capabilities.
  2. Blogger has bigger audience.
  3. More easier to customize to your own liking.
  4. Wordpress themes have too many flaws.
Hopefully you can respect my decision and keep supporting my blog by reading or commenting. If anyone have suggestions or ideas, i'm more than welcome to listen. There is still stuff unfinished on the new site and i'm working on that.

0 comments:

September 2013 TV Guide

September TV Guide

I did earlier October's list, but now i want to focus bit on next month that being September, i think there is tons of series starting at September, which hold great potential. Instead of two parts ill be making one this time, kinda like a editors pick (Just picking out the best ones there, in my opinion of course). Hopefully everyone find something to their liking.

File:Agents of SHIELD Promo.jpg

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Agents Of SHIELD is based on popular comic universe my Marvel, The Avengers movie worked as sort of a backdoor pilot for this show. The show will feature numerous great actors such as Clark GreggMing-Na Wen, Brett Dalton, Chloe Bennet, Elizabeth Henstridge and J. August Richards. According to the executive producer Joss Whedon the show won't focus so much on superpowers, its more focused to agents (So i guess its a cop show by heart). As for number of episodes there is no actual number anywhere, but one would assume 12 episodes for first season. Also expect lot of guest stars in this show, who knows even Ironman might make cameo.


Hostages

Hostages is very interesting and that might be an understatement. In short words; The family of a doctor, who will be doing surgery on the United States President, is taken hostage by a rogue FBI agent. She is ordered by the kidnappers to assassinate the President in order to save her family. Dylan McDermott is starring as main role and i have full confidence that he will be pulling through on this. I would assume this kinda show would last 12 episodes, so i expect really action packed series with epic ending. The original version is made by Israelis, but it never saw daylight so i guess US picked it up and made their own version.  This is definitely something you want to check at September, this is killer not a filler.

The Crazy Ones

We got some great comedies coming up as well this September such as The Crazy Ones starred by Sarah Michelle Gellar (Marry Me, pretty please) and Robin Williams (Good to see more movie actors transition to TV series). Since i'm huge Sarah fan ill pretty much be watching this whole series while drooling over her, also Robin is really talented comedian he knows how to imitate and do different sorts of comedy (Black Comedy, Sitcom stuff and stand up). It's been while since ive been hyped about Comedy series, nevertheless i think this will be great.

Brooklyn Nine Nine

Those who are familiar with Lonely Island's Youtube channel, well i got some good news for ya. Andy Samberg will have main role in the upcoming series called Brooklyn Nine-Nine, which is a Cop Comedy (I've seen multiple movies about those, but not really many TV series ones). Andre Braugher who was in Last Resort will be starring as the new captain of the station (I never expected him to be in a comedy series). Terry Alan Crews who is known from multiple series such as Everybody hates Chris, Arrested Development , Battle Dome and Are We There Yet? will be playing the detective squad leader (his really funny guy too). It looks really good comedy season, i see CBS really putting effort on these new shows, I will watch this one with joy of tears.


DADS

Once again a Movie actor goes to TV series, really good news since its one of my favorite actors Giovanni Ribisi who is main character along with Seth Green on this new ABC Comedy series called Dads. I think whole concept is very used and nothing special done there, but the thing with comedy series is the actors, because you have such talented actors as Giovanni & Seth, i think this series could work out really well. But have to see if it can avoid being repetitive and create something new to the Sitcom game. I'll probably take my chances with the series, but i think there is possibility i could drop it.

The Blacklist

The Blacklist is interesting type of TV show, kinda reminds me of Law Abiding Citizen (A guy who controls everything from his prison cell), well this isn't 100% same, but close enough! James Spader is main cast in this particular TV show and i think he will be star of it as well. Whoever is playing the Girl, is not important since she doesn't seem to be anything special. But anyhow the show is about a criminal who surrenders himself to the Fed's and starts working with them to capture other dangerous criminal. You can look the trailer and get the hung of it. I think this show is also very potential (like all i listed here), i'm looking forward to this a lot.

Closing Notes

There is couple TV-shows also starting, but i didn't think they were anything special (such as reality TV stuff). But quick mention on Betrayal which might be some peoples liking but really didn't appear to be my cup of tea. Also "We Are Men" a new comedy series by CBS is starting at September as well, starred by famous Tony Shalhoub. Other than that i really didn't feel like there was anything else special starting at September. If you have questions leave them below, i hopefully have answers.

0 comments:

Arrested Development - Season 4 Review


It was back in 2006, when Season 3 ended on Arrested Development, i did not watch the show back then, well okay saw few episodes at TV other than that no. Few months back Netflix renewed the series for 4th season, my first impression was; Is that even possible? Apparently it is, anyhow lets get into reviewing part. All Season 4 episodes were released on May 26th at Netflix totaling of 15 episodes.


This season was very different from the other seasons, since the storytelling and timeline was very odd. Also i can say that the actors aged really well in these 7 years. *SPOILERS* --> Practically whole season was filmed in perspective of an individual per episode; Jobe, Oscar, George, George Michael, Lucille, Lindsay, Maeby, Tobias, Buster and Michael had their own episodes, some of them had more than just one. One thing that really bugged me was, there was no telling when the each episode was happening in terms of Timeline. Next minute we are at the Mexico Election event and after that we're back at US, so that got me really confused a lot, but it doesn't matter that much since its a Comedy Show, although it could have been done much better.

I really enjoyed story of Jobe mostly, there is just so much going around him in this season such as Tony Wonder affair, meeting with his son again, Mr.Getaway and whole Bee Job. He really delivered during 4th season, not that he was any bad at previous ones. Then we have Tobias who had his classical gay references through out the episodes, nothing changed at that front he was still pursuing the actor career. Buster had his few episodes too, but i really felt that he had so much less screen time in this season, like really not having major part as he did on previous seasons. Lucille was still great (I loved the part with Chinese house wives) looked like she hadn't aged a day. One of the favourite actors in this show was Jeffrey Tambor who played Oscar & George he did really great job on previous seasons, like whole time he was on prison and all that, but this season i think the performance was bit lower, not too much but just bit lower.

There was lot of different point of views from individual scenes in the show, which were really interesting since it felt like everyone was there, but weren't shown at same time. I think this is one of the stuff that makes Arrested Development bit different from other Comedy Shows. It would be really interesting to see in which order the scenes were filmed and were the actual actors there at that specific time. Although some of the timeline stuff ruined these events for me, i still enjoyed most of them. Also this time Ron Howard actually made an appearance (The narrator in the show), which was really interesting since i never thought that he would look like that. Hes actually portraying himself, since hes real name is indeed Ron Howard and his executive producer of Arrested Development.

Ratings

Music - This show had its own theme song, which is a plus (They don't have those a lot in western shows anymore), there is also some original scoring, but i wasn't very big fan of that also they kept spamming that Final Countdown again at Jobe's Magic Shows. (2/5)

Actors - Ben Stiller's quest appearance was really cool and i felt like all actors did really good job, portraying their characters. Also some of the new actors on the show were really promising, Jobe and Buster had some really remember able scenes in this Season. Wanted to see more Larry the Lawyer his character is really amazing, but in overall i was pleased by performances. (3.5/5.0)

Story - As i mentioned earlier on the post i really felt like timeline was bit too messy for me, i liked the storytelling mode from each characters perspective that is really unique style and isn't used quite too often sadly. There was few twists along the path, which is always good and it keeps people coming back, although the ending of this season was kinda meh for me, overall its not groundbreaking story, but it was decent. (2.5/5.0)

Re-watch Value - I'm kinda person that doesn't really watch series again, i might come back to watch certain scenes, but other than that i do not. Although i still need to rate this part as well, i do believe that if you're able to remember the twists in this show, then the value isn't that high, since i do not think that the actual comedy was that superb. (1.5/5.0)

Comedy - I had my laughs, but i feel like the audience of this show is more family orientated, so that maybe took off some of the potential, although there was good jokes and bad jokes. Some decent one liners, but i think this show was based on more scenes than actual one liners. It's all about what sort comedy you're into i think i'm pretty versatile when it comes to that, but this was sub-par compared to my favorites. (2/5)

Final Score - (11.5/25)

I enjoyed watching Arrested Development, i think its pretty different from your average comedy series (Sitcoms), but i wouldn't necessarily go to recommend it to just anyone, although i think its something i would recommend if you're looking something either more family friendly or just different sort a show. I Would watch Season 5 if it comes out (There has been rumors about it) and definitely would want to see more Ben Stiller as Tony Wonder, but i would want the Season 5 to be final and finalizing all the loose holes and giving proper ending to the show.

0 comments:

True Blood - Season 6 Review



True Blood has been around already Six Seasons, which i'm grateful for (Since most of my favourite shows get axe'd after 1-2 seasons). I Remember when show aired first time back in 2008, then i wasn't really hyped for the series, i mean the first couple episodes were average and i stopped watching, but after i picked the show again and fell in love with it. I'm Always been huge vampire fan (being big Buffy and Angel fan) ive also seen numerous movies such as the Blade Series, Underworld Series, Twilight series and even The Lost Boys.

But lets get back to the actual review of Season Six of True Blood. I found Season 4 really bad compared to previous and newer ones, but after Season 5 came out, i saw lot of improvement in story and events revolving around it. I have to say Season Six amazed me, because it was better than Season 5. So why it was so good? Well for starters i think the overall storyline and new characters brought season six alive for me. New Characters such as Willa, Warlow, Nial and Violet were really great additions to the cast.

This season had very rich background stories like how Eric met Nora and Warlow's whole history with Lilith. I Wish Nial (Suki's fairy grandfather) had more part in the story, since Warlow did after all throw him back to the dark realm for couple of episodes. Well he did teach Suki how to use the Fairy plasma cannon and boost up Jason's ego a bit, but he didn't have much else, except being there to kill Warlow. Also this season had lot of love relationships going around, such as violet & jason, jessica and that random guy, even Sam managed to get girl pregnant, oh yeah Suki hooking up with Alcide. Although you can expect tons of changes in next season probably, since Suki has habit keeping men in rotation ;).

One thing i really want to point out in True Blood is the so called Side-stories, which aren't practically related to the main story, but they kinda are. One being whole Terry and his army buddies in Irak end up pissing the old lady and she curses them. Resulting Ifrit coming each one of them to kill them. Terry couldn't deal up with the guilt so he called his army fella to kill him, leaving Arlene with 2 Million dollars. Also Andy and her 4 kids, was kinda cool side-story as well, sadly 3 of them got killed by Jessica (Accidentally drank them dry). So lot of Faeries did die this season (Warlow killing the whole faerie carnival people).

Overall this season was really exciting, it had great new & returning characters, plot was better than 2 previous ones (Huge improvement on that), also side-stories were really nice and i think some of the smaller characters got more exposure in this Season, especially Andy seems to have much bigger part in the past 2 seasons, than on previous ones.

Remember that Season 7 will start at Summer 2014 i'm personally looking forward to that due to big cliffhanger end of Season 6 (Crowd of Ugly/Pissed/Dirty Vampires attacking Merlot's bar/restaurant). The 7th Season won't probably based on any book, since the story has gone to its own course lately. Which is kinda obvious since show has gone in such fast phase.

Ratings

MusicI have to say it took me four seasons to start liking the Theme Song of True Blood, well its actually really a country song so as a European i don't fully relate to that sort of music, although i think its really fitting song, since events are taking place in Louisiana. As for the original scoring there is couple really cool, violin songs "Eric's Grief" and "Goodbye Gadric" being really well done songs and they have really good sound to them. I Just wish they would use these songs more often at the series although. (4/5)

Actors - Lets start with Ryan Kwanten (Jason) who has always really funny way to be funny, with this silly kinda acting to know everything, but knows nothing (Jon Snow). Then we got Nelsan Ellis who plays Lafayette, i have to say he is really really talented actor, i mean he is not Gay in real life, but he does it so good on the series, makes it so believable. Then we got this Swedish Alexander SkarsgĂ„rd who plays Eric Northman and i think hes really good actor as well, especially the scene where he disguises himself and goes to talk governor, that was priceless. Also i think Stephen Moyer impressed me this season with this all confused bill (Being all mega religious last season), so he brought like whole new side of him this season to the show, positively surprised how varied his acting skills are. Then we got good old Anna Paquin who plays Suki, she is a really good actor, i love some of the faces she makes and she always pulls through and she is very convincing performer. Like i also mentioned earlier the new cast members were also great, Violet was smoking hot and same goes for Willa (She kinda reminds me of the Lead singer in Glee). Hope to see Rutger Hauer as Niall next season, but i think whole story with Faeries might be over, but you can't be never sure about that. (4/5)

StoryAs ive stated the story has improved quite a lot from previous 2, there was flashbacks, rich backgrounds, few twists and couple of betrayals etc. I Think there is potential to go further with this, but i think sometimes that they might have left lot of stuff out from the books (I haven't read them), but that is just impression i sometimes i get. Also i have to point out last episodes first part was kinda rushed the whole fight with warlow, then hopping on 6 months in time, Sam is a Mayor and Suki is with Alcide, so i think whole timeskip could have been made in one single episode, but that is my 2 cents. (3.5/5)
 
Re-watch ValueI think there was few memorable moments during this season, also lot of stuff happened actually in this season so in a sense its advisable to re-watch the season before Season 7 starts out. I think couple scenes with Teri were pretty good, i probably be vising some of these emotional scenes at some point. I also recommend watching couple of last episodes of Season 5, before starting Season 6, since couple of first episodes are kinda linked with previous season. Guess there is also those Sex scenes, which i know few people want to visit again. (3.5/5.0)

Drama & Visual EffectsAs you may have seen on my last review, i rated comedy, but this is Drama/Supernatural series, i will be rating areas based on genre. I feel like whole Vampire super speed thing, is pretty well done and its believable, i mean if we go back in the day Buffy and Angel never had really epic fighting scenes or anything (Or maybe couple), but i can see there is some fighting Choreography done in this season, some of the shooting scenes were pretty well done. As for the Drama, i think many who aren't vampire fans could really like this show, since i think Drama quality is really high and story isn't super complex so people can understand it, but i believe this is audienced to the youth and people below 30. Then again i don't see problem person over 30 watching this stuff, its not about age really, its about mentality you have towards trying stuff out of your comfort zone. (4/5)

Final Score - (19/25)

Probably my favourite season of all, i liked the side-stories, new/returning characters, new plot and character development. True Blood is not twilight nor Vampire Diaries its totally different, it has its own unique approach to whole Vampire mythology and lore. I Love the Southern setup and the locations where they are filming in (Lot of movie companies believe, everything has to be filmed in California or New York), but that ain't true. I'm looking forward to the next season and i think it has huge potential to be good as Season Six or even better, till then i suggest checking out the True Blood comic or checking the new series "The Originals" which i'm kinda hyped about.

0 comments:

Banshee - Season 1 Review



It's been while, well i was gone at Germany for a week, but now i'm back in action. When reading synopsis of the story i wasn't really interested, but when i watched the actual trailer (my opinion changed drastically). Well i think that is with the most of the shows, script may sound pretty generic, but its the actors, music, effects and locations what brings it alive. I am big fan of Shield, i found Banshee somewhat similar to that like the whole bad cop thing and extreme measures, also multiple affairs and violence of main character.

 The Genre called "Drama" has evolved quite a lot in past years, in terms of more in depth series and complexity of relationships. If we go back in the 80's they pretty much didn't have anything like this (Well they didn't have pretty much anything except sitcoms). I think Banshee is one of those innovators, which is taking Drama to more darker side like (Dexter or Shield). For that reason i took quite a liking to the series.

*SPOILERS*
As some of you already know, main character takes a role of a Dead Cop and becomes a sheriff of the town called Banshee. Although you might think this is a cop show, i wouldn't really say so, i mean yeah there is crimes but this isn't your typical "Lets solve the case and find the murderer". It's merely a small detail among big details on the series. The Show is being filmed at North & South Carolina, which is great in my opinion (As i posted on True Blood review, i found the NY, California and Miami really over used locations). You have this small town setting where everybody knows everybody, with bars & salons and all that good western stuff.

Banshee had tons of twists in its 10 episode packed series, i feel like one of the most interesting characters aside main character was Kai Proctor played by Ulrich Thomsen, he really brought the show alive for me with his danish accent and show off style. I felt like there wasn't single episode like "nothing is going on", there was always something. Until the very last 3 episodes, they started to do some cliffhanger stuff to hype up the conclusion of the season. There was the potential to wrap the whole series in one season, but i felt like since season 2 is starting at 2014, we have chance to see whole Kai vs. Indians and how the whole situation will go normal from the conclusion with Mr.Rabbit on the final episode. P.S the whole bazooka thing in the end was extremely cheesy.
There was quite a lot of cliffhangers in the end of episode 10, but i won't go in detail of those, since some of you haven't watched this yet (There is one after credits, remember to check that).

Ratings

Music - There is fine piece of Theme song at the start with pictures going in and out (Not sure are these real pictures or are they taken for the series). Overall its pretty average stuff, nothing extraordinary here. (2/5)

ActorsUlrich Thomsen really delivered, but so did Anthony Starr, i really loved the whole cast even the Chinese guy (he was actually really talented). I think if you're making a good Drama show, you can't have mediocre actors on it, so i really felt that there wasn't single actor who didn't deliver during the series. (4/5)

StoryAs i mentioned there was quite of twists and heart beating events during the series, which will keep people watching the show. This isn't your cheap action drama show, Banshee has quite lot of depth in the story, rich backgrounds, flashbacks all that. I'm curious to see what they are going to focus on Season 2, probably about Lucas hiding his identity and conflict between Kai Proctor and the Native Americans. (4/5)

Re-watch Value - I Think this show has definitely high value of re-watching, since there is lot of events happening in just 10 episodes, so might wanna take few steps back and carefully watch it again before Season 2 starts in 2014. (3/5) 

Drama & Effects - This is A-tier Drama series and i would recommend this everyone who really enjoyed series like Dexter and Shield. I think actors were really good showing off emotions and nothing felt really over cheesy or anything. Fighting scenes felt like they had proper coordination and experts writing them, also blood make up seemed quite real to me. Really have to point that bazooka was pretty lame, it felt really cheesy. (3.5/5.0)

Final Score - (16.5/25)

I Enjoyed quite a lot watching this show, there wasn't really a moment where i was getting bored and would decide to put this series on hold (Which i do with some series, if they aren't entertaining enough). It's definitely among best Dramas of the season. The series had its really good moments and it kept delivering that 5 Star action through out the series. Those who like drama-action this is really something for you, i'm really looking forward to Season 2, so lets see what brings us.

0 comments: